What I Eat In A Day As A Vegan

06/14/2020

Hello beautiful soul! 

Today I want to share with you the meals I eat during the day now that I'm vegan. If going vegan or cutting down on meat in your diet is something you're looking into, I hope this blog can give you an insight of what you can make. I don't usually eat all of these meals everyday (how boring would that be?) but I do come to them very often in the week. 

Let's start with breakfast, shall we? First thing I do EVERY SINGLE MORNING is have my celery juice. If you haven't read my previous post on why I drink celery juice first thing in the morning, you have to go check it out

After having about 16 oz of celery juice, I wait about 15-30 mins until I eat or drink anything else. This allows the celery juice to be absorbed and start doing it's wonderful healing work. I then move on to breakfast.

Breakfast 

For breakfast, I usually go to either oatmeal or pancakes. The one thing I miss the most is breakfast food; scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits, BUT I'm truly happy with the choices I have now too. 

The brand I use is Birch Benders Pancake & Waffle Mix, I mix it with almond milk or oat milk instead of water and then I either add chocolate chips, strawberries or blueberries like in this picture.


Lunch

For lunch, I make enough food to last me for dinner too. This is the best thing I can do for myself, especially when I have a full day of baby duty, homework, work and hobbies. The one thing I've been making at least once a week is Vegan Stir Fry. I love, love, loveeee this recipe I came up with myself. So easy and so filling. 

The veggies can be changed to add more color, or more texture or more flavor. For me, I usually try to add as many as I can so that I don't eat a ton of rice to fill up. 

Here we have: 

  • Onion
  • Broccoli
  • Orange bell pepper
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Green beans
  • Garlic
  • Ginger

And then I also add:

  • White Rice
  • Salt
  • Soy sauce 
  • Sesame oil
  • Sriracha sauce

How to make it:

       I cook the white rice separately until just about ready. In a really hot pan, I add olive oil, and all the veggies chopped up except for the green beans and sugar snap peas. I cook them until they get some crispiness to them and then I add the rice, garlic, ginger, soy sauce and sesame oil. I let the rice get a little color to it and then it's done!  I plate it and add a bit more soy sauce and Sriracha on top! 

So yummy and so simple! This usually keeps me full for a while, and again, I do make enough to have for dinner. 


Smoothie

A few hours after this, I'm usually craving something sweet and refreshing so I either make a smoothie or a juice. Today I decided to make a smoothie with some of the fruit that was about to go bad. 

This smoothie has:

  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Banana
  • Peaches
  • Spinach
  • Water 
  • Ice

It's not all that beautiful but it was so refreshing, and kept me full for another couple hours.


Snack

Then at around 5 p.m or 6 p.m I usually have a coffee or a tea and a small snack. I recently came across some vegan bagels at the store and decided to give them a shot. The first time I tried them, I had it with vegan butter and I wasn't much of a fan but today I tried them with peanut butter and they were perfect! 

And then for dinner I had left overs, which was the stir fry. And that's it! 

Add lots and lots of water, coffee, and tea to the list of things and you basically have a whole day in my life. I hope this helps you get some ideas, and maybe gets rid of that idea of it being hard to be in a vegan lifestyle because it's truly not! 

I would love to hear if you have tried any of these before and if you have any questions towards getting help making better lifestyle choices, go to "Contact me" so we can talk!

Wishing you love and health, until next time, 

Carolina. 

© 2020 Health is Happiness. All rights to joy reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started